Pacific Street Blues Podcast

Sometime in November last year, I was honoured to be asked by award winning US DJ Rick Galusha, along with 2 other northern DJs Ally Lee & Nick Roberts, to put together an hour of British Blues for his award winning Pacific Blues show.
My plan was to showcase some British Blues that the folks across the water might not have heard..
Once I’d done the show I sent it across to Rick and then more or less forgot about it.
The show was broadcast on Sunday Dec. 30th, with my hour broadcast last, and I managed to listen in to parts of all 3 hours. There was some great music played by all 3 of us.

You can hear my segment here – if the player below isn’t working, go here

Here’s my playlist:

Artist                                         Track                                               Album
24 Pesos                                    Ain’t Gonna Beg No More                When The Ship Goes Down
The Groovamatics                      Love’s A Misdemeanour                    Gotta Use What You Got
Oli Brown                                  More than You’ll Ever Know             Here I Am
Wooden Horse                          Mean Ol Frisco                                  e.p.
Virgil & The Accelerators           88                                                      The Radium
The Motives feat. Matt Taylor    Gone Before                                      Self-Titled
Stevey Hay’s Shades of Blue       Losin’ With the Boozin                       Self Titled
Poplar Jake                                Too Much Alcohol                             Ridin’ the Blinds
BabaJack                                   Gallow’s Pole                                     Rooster
Hokie Joint                                 The Music Starts To Play                   The Music Starts To Play
Jo Harman                                 Sweet Man Moses                              Worthy of Love e.p

One of Rick’s listeners had this to say:

 The last hour was absolutely exceptional! The songs that that Britsh guy played were some of the best blues songs I have EVER HEARD! I was freaking out. What I need to know is if I can get a playlist of those songs or a podcast or something. I didn’t get a chance to write down any of the songs nor do I remember the name of any of them as I had something else going on at the same time. I’d like to track every one of those songs down and buy them or the albums they’re on. Phenomenal guitar solos, vocals, everything. And can you include some of those songs in your normal playlist rotation from now on? I don’t normally do this but like I said, those songs were phenomenal.

One response to “Pacific Street Blues Podcast

Leave a Reply

