Peter Parcek gear setup

I was introduced to the great playing of Peter Parcek by my friend Gary Chaplin who pointed me to these very videos that I’m going to share with you. Since then, I’ve been in touch with Peter and he has very kindly sent me CDs of his great music, which I play frequently on the Blues Show. Peter and I chat online now and then too, and I thought it might be a good idea to find out what gear he was using to get the great sounds in these 2 videos – so I asked him.

First: “The Mathematics Of Love”

Guitar:
Squier Stratocaster Deluxe (believe it or not a $300 guitar)
the pickups were changed to Dimarzio Hs-2s w/ Dimarzio Chopper in the bridge & bone nut added – otherwise stock.
strings- set starting w/ .009.

Amp:
Swart Space Tone 5 watts into an 8″ speaker

Effects:
Way Huge Delay
Drive/Boost pedals include an Xotic EP Boost, Xotic BB Preamp,
MI Audio Blues Pro, Mi Audio Crunch Box
Fulltone OCD & Plimsoul.
I used different drive/boost options for different tracks during this live recording (we did a number of songs that day).
The Ep Boost was a constant, the Crunch Box was used sparingly.
Typically the drive pedals would be employed one at a time although sometimes the EP was added to a milder overdrive for emphasis in certain sections
The EP is a cleanish boost, The Blues Pro is a milder drive, the BB & Plimsoul are bolder, the OCD has a range of drive & i used it w/ a lower drive setting generally……

Then “See That My Grave Is Kept Clean”

Same gear was utilized as “Mathematics” except the guitar is a Fender Custom Shop Tele Jr
w/ pick-ups changed to Dimarzio Virtual P-90s, otherwise stock.
I am riding the guitar volume for dynamics as well as for the amount of gain

Leave a Reply

