Guitar Legend Duane Eddy at The Sage

My friend, sax player Paul Corry, sent me a message: “I’m playing at The Sage with Duane Eddy – want tickets?” No sooner had I twangwed my way up the A1, when I found myself in a sold out crowd, where Duane, backed by Richard Hawley’s band, gave us note perfect renditions of many of his hits, as well as tracks from his new album Road Trips. Now I have to admit that if it wasn’t for Duane Eddy I probably wouldn’t be playing the guitar. When I told him this backstage, Duane said “Now don’t go blaming all that on me!”. Duane was very funny onstage and off, and was very gracious too. He took the time to record a station ident for The Blues Show, which is awesome. And he signed the setlist that I had “borrowed” from the stage. A wonderful night.

Leave a Reply

