Tangled Up In Tunes

I have to admit, I love The Dead, but at times I can barely tolerate Dylan. There – I’ve said it! Don’t get me wrong, as a songwriter I think he is superb, but I’ve almost always been disappointed by his performance on record. I’ve only seen him play live once – St. James Park, Newcastle upon Tyne, and while I enjoyed that gig it had more to do with the fact that I got in for free, and that Mick Taylor was playing guitar.
Conversely, however, unlike most DeadHeads, I really like the Dylan & The Dead CD that came out some years ago, and I always love The Dead’s/JGB/Phil Lesh’s/Bob Weir’s take on Dylan songs.

Howard Weiner has spent 300 nights with Dylan & The Dead, and has a book to prove it, whereas, including the Dylan gig mentioned above, I only have 3 nights experience to draw on (2 Dead gigs). I haven’t read the book, but I would be very interested in taking a look at what Howard has to say. If you’re a fan of Dylan or the Dead, you might be interested too.

Leave a Reply

