Les Paul Special transformed

Local musician Steve had seen this Les Paul Special at local guitar repairer’s Les Tones when he dropped off another of his guitars for some work. When he returned to pickup his own guitar, he tried the Special again. He says: “I gave it a try and WOW what an amazing guitar, great feeling smooth satin neck and great P90’S. It was love I tells ya!”.
A deal was done and the Special ssoon replaced Steve’s Les Paul Custom as his go-to guitar. Soon it was time for some work:
– Rockmonkey Roadhouse Blue & Gold Handwound P90s
– Rs Guitarworks vintage Les Paul kit (with 500k tone pots replaced for 250k)
– Faber Aluminum tailpiece and Faber locking studs
– Faber abr-1 conversion kit and Nickel Faber bridge with brass saddles
– Gibson Button Tuners
– Fake 58 Truss Rod Cover
– Fake 58 Poker chip and switch tip

I asked Steve some questions:

What drew you to the guitar in the first place?

Well I have always been fond of Les Pauls but never really got on with the sound or feel of them (humbuckers and glossy necks) but always liked the look and the weight of them as well as the necks. Now I used to have a Gibson SG special faded which had a satin brown finish and I changed out the humbuckers and routed it for p90s which was great – wish I’d never got rid but ya knar times get hard. so anyways whilst I was at Les Tones he showed me this beat up lipstick red Faded Les Paul Special and I fell in love instantly that same satin neck and feel from my old SG but the weight and look of a Les Paul.

What is your reasoning behind each of the mods you have made?

I’m always modding stuff  iIm never happy with anything until its spot on. I changed the pickups to the Rockmonkeys because I had used them before and had positive results. What use is good pickups with crappy electronics  – Gibson continue to disappoint with their parts (except for the jack and switch) so I changed out to custom spec CTS pots 500k volume and 250k tone as well as great vintage spec Jensen capacitors  – got them all from an american company called RS Guitarworks who do great wiring kits to your specifications using the best parts.Finally I changed out the hardware purely because I wanted nickel over the stock chrome as nickel ages chrome doesn’t.

On a scale of 1-10, where 1 is chinese crap plank and 10 is custom built to your spec by your choice of guitar builder, where was the LP when you bought it? And where is it now?

Before it was a 6  – felt great and had potential but I’m a very picky guitarist I like things to be perfect with my guitars to my specs.
Now I’d say its a 10  – the potential was there with the wood all that it needed was new parts and a new finish the only thing I would change and this is minor is that it be a 1 piece body rather then a 2 piece.

Who did all of the work?

I stick by Les Tones and always will –  never had any complaints with his work. I’m perfectly capable of doing a lot of this work myself but I would rather Les do it its always better and never expensive.

Leave a Reply

