My dad’s guitar


This isn’t the very first guitar I remember my Dad having, but after I posted about missing out on buying back the guitar my gran bought me, my brother went into the loft and brought this out. I knew he had it, of course. It was bought for our father by a friend of his, Owen Richmond.
As guitars go in general, it isn’t anything special – 6 string nylon strung, made in Slovakia by Hi Spot. I’ve seen one or two on ebay (not that I’ll be selling it, of course) – it is special to my brother and sister and I of course.
One evening a few weeks ago I was listening to a song and wanted to play along. The only guitar within easy reach was this one, so I picked it up and played along on the remaining 3 strings for about a minute. Then I spent the next 10 minutes blubbering like a child. So, I guess it’ll take me a while to get around to restringing it, but I will eventually.
Late one night some time last year, I was editing a cassette of my Dad playing this guitar – little melodies from songs that he and Owen used to listen to – I was putting them on CD for my brother and sister. He had made the tape for his friend Owen who had given him the guitar. Owen was ill in hospital at the time.
I was coping fairly well with this emotionally charged task, remembering the tunes that he used to play until, out of the blue, there in my headphones, sometime after midnight, was my Dad’s voice, speaking to Owen. Well, to say I was shocked would be an understatement. I immediately whipped the headphones off, tried to curb the goosebumps running all over my body and looked over my shoulder to make sure I really was alone. It took me quite a little while to get back to finishing  the task.
One response to “My dad’s guitar

Leave a Reply

