New George Harrison album

When my brother and I were younger (much younger) we’d pretend to be The Beatles. I’d just got “With The Beatles” and we’d take turns being John, Paul, George & Ringo. When one of us was Ringo we’d use knitting needles on biscuit tins and on the cushions of the sofa. For bass or guitars we used, of course, the traditional tennis rackets (though I’m not sure where they came from – we never played tennis!) And yes, I always wanted to be George. It is safe to say I wouldn’t be playing guitar if it wasn’t for George. A couple of months ago I passed the time on a train journey by reading George’s book “I, Me, Mine” – a wonderful insight into his life and songs.

So here is a fantastic album that is coming out this month, featuring remastered and live tracks from George’s solo career. I’m hoping for a review copy.

You can order it here.

There’s 2 tracks to stream: Isn’t It A Pity and While My Guitar Gently Weeps

To be released June 16, the new title will feature digitally remastered tracks in deluxe packaging, including an extensive booklet featuring previously unseen and rare photos. The collection will also be available for download from all major digital service providers.

Let It Roll: Songs by George Harrison is the first release that will span his entire solo recording career, including the #1 Billboard Pop singles “My Sweet Lord,” “Isn’t It A Pity,” “Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth),” and “Got My Mind Set On You.” The new title will also feature live recordings of three Harrison-penned Beatles songs, “Something,” “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” and “Here Comes The Sun” from his 1971 all-star Concert For Bangladesh benefit at Madison Square Garden. The complete track list will soon be announced.

Leave a Reply

