New pickup on my Tele


Ever since I got my fab ESP telecaster I’ve had some intermittent noise issues – crackling, cutting out and such like. I finally surrendered and took it to Ron’s Music in Darlington, where my friend Pete works. A day later I got a call from Ron to say that the middle pickup was faulty.

As it happened I had several pickups lying around – nothing too exotic but I thought a Kent Armstrong Hot Rails would be fine in the middle position, so I dropped it off. The next day, the guitar was ready, and boy, did it sound great! A nice balance between the new pickup and the others.(Seymour Duncan Jeff Beck in the bridge – coil tappable – and mystery humbucker in the neck – thought it was a Duncan too, but it may not be.)

Leave a Reply

