Blues Show No.1 – BishopFM

Last night (Monday) was my first attempt at broadcasting.
I presented a one hour Blues Show on internet only (for now) station BishopFM at 8pm. With some quick guidance from Terry Ferdinand, Chris and Ian, I was there flying solo! I’d done quite a bit of preparation and tried to choose a good and varied playlist (see below – with links) as well as preparing a few introductions to tunes (not exactly a script, but a trick I’d learned from Stan Laundon a long time ago).

The whole thing seemed to come fairly easily – I don’t think there were any bloopers or major periods of dead air. I felt comfortable pretty quickly – as I said last night it was as if I was born to do this. I got several supportive emails during the show from friends and strangers alike – I might just convert a few of them to blues fans!

(Today, though, I’m feeling dreadful – shivers, sneezes, aches and pains – I’ve got a bad cold and the Doctor says I need to rest)

The playlist is below. The first track “Pickin’ The Blues” by Grinderswitch was used for many years by the late John Peel as the theme tune to his BBC radio show. I was always a big John Peel fan, even though i didn’t like all of the music he played, I did like him and he was a great influence on my musical development. We spoke a few times too. So in tribute to John Peel I played the Grinderswitch tune in full last night and I’ll be using it as my theme tune every week. (Yes! I’m back next week!)

Blues Show 1 Playlist
GrinderswitchPickin the Blues

Robert JohnsonCrossroad Blues

Kelly RicheyLeave The Blues Behind
BB King – See That My Grave Is Kept Clean (from Album Of The Week “One Kind Favor“)

John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton – I’m Your Witchdoctor
Stevie Ray VaughanPride and Joy

Smokin’ Joe Kubek and Bnois KingFlamethrower

Marcus Bonfanti – Now I’m Gone

BB King – How Many More Years (from Album Of The Week)

John Mayer TrioEveryday I Have The Blues

Little FeatCan’t Be Satisfied/Hot Tamales

Blind Willie McTellDon’t You See How This World Made A Change

BB King – Sittin’ On Top Of The World (from Album Of The Week)

Canned Heat – Mercury Blues

6 responses to “Blues Show No.1 – BishopFM

  1. Thanks guys! This’ll be a regular 6hing every Monday 8pm UK time. And yes, I have a great face for radio!I’m planning to get a recording of the show and put it up as a podcast somewhere.

Leave a Reply

